Engagement Stories: Paige and Johnny

How long have you and Johnny been together?

5 years.

How did Johnny propose?

We went on a two week holiday to Italy and one of our day trips was to Venice. It was a really early morning and once we got there our tour guide showed us round on a half an hour tour and then took us to the gondolas for a gondola ride. We had half an hour on the gondola and then we had free time. He suggested we walked along the grant canal where all the gondolas pass so we did. Whilst I was admiring the gondolas and how beautiful it all looked I turned round to see him down on one knee and I was so shocked!

Did you have any idea that he was going to propose?

No I had absolutely no idea. He did seem a bit out of character for the full day – as I mentioned it was an early morning and whilst I was moaning about how early it was he was up showered and ready before me (it’s usually the other way round) and he seemed on edge through the tour and gondola ride but I assumed the early morning had caught up on him.

Have you made any plans for the wedding yet?

We haven’t made any solid plans as we are both wanting to finish our degrees first and get ourselves sorted with a house. But we would like to get married in 2020 on the anniversary of our engagement, so the 22nd July.

Have you got any plans for an engagement party?

We have a venue and the party is in April at Scalinis in Jesmond, Tyne and Wear. We have reserved the loft bar and we’ve invited our family and close friends. We have our cake sorted and we are having a buffet supplied by Scalinis.

Although your wedding isn’t for a while, have you made any decisions yet on venues or dresses?

It’s a few years off but I always keep my eye out on styles I like and prices just so I prepare myself for when I do look properly. We don’t want to get married in a church we would prefer to get married at a hall for example Beamish Hall or Slaley Hall. I like mermaid style wedding dresses.


Leave a comment